What a week…

Ah hell, it’s only Wednesday night.  If I thought I could stay awake long enough to finish it, I’d have an adult beverage… but as it is I’m fighting to keep my eyes open.  So much has been going on, and I only did an overview on Facebook the other night.  Right now I’m referring to this week as Hell Week.  But let me go back to last week to bring things a bit more up to speed.

Last week I had a test in Research Methods (which I bombed, as did most of the class), on top of scurrying frantically to get everything ready for the “data collection” part of our study Thursday night.  Oh, and Thursday I was also leaving work early (hell, I was only going to be in the office for like 1.5 hours due to a meeting) to meet with the liaison at Food for Others to get set up for my community service learning (CSL) this summer.  Thursday I didn’t go to lab for Methods because I was home popping popcorn for the study.  I may never eat popcorn again.  Or at least not for a very long time.  I got to the office to find the back door locked.  I thought it was a bit odd, but was more perplexed when I opened the door and the lights were off.  I heard my boss’ voice, and then another male voice… but no sign of my coworker.  Turns out she’d been offered a job with another company (in a different field), and even though she’d planned to work Thursday and Friday the boss told her that Wednesday had been her last day.  Great.  The meeting never happened.  I went to get my CSL set up, then headed to campus.  I actually had a lot of fun with the girls doing our study (even though we were rushing to finishing weighing carrots and putting them into baggies).  We had 47 people show up!  Just proves that if you offer food, they will sign up!  (Maybe someone should do a study on whether more college students sign up for studies involving food than not…)  I’ll go into the study details another time.  I just don’t have the mental capacity right now.  Friday was fairly quiet, so we’ll move into this week.

Monday wasn’t too horrific.  The girls and I continued to work on our poster for our study presentation, work was fairly quiet.  It seemed like a decent start to the week.  Then yesterday happened.  Holy Hell.  I had to stop at the post office on the way into the office to place a hold on our mail (no one is in the office until noon, and the carrier comes before then).  It was about 12:10 when I got to the office, got the computer up and running… and basically hit the ground running.  I did not stop.  Somewhere around 4:00 I thought I’d heat up my lunch.  Dropped it on the floor.  Ran next door to Subway, got back to my desk, got ready to take a bite… 3rd walk-in customer of the day… wanted a policy review.  Thirty minutes later I got to take a bite of my sandwich.  The only times I left my desk yesterday was 2-3 times to use the restroom, 1 time to attempt to heat my lunch, and 1 time to go to Subway.  No joke.  It was non-stop.  Then I came home and studied for the stats test I had this morning.  The hits just keep rollin’ in.  The test wasn’t as bad as I feared – I need a good grade on this one because I’m barely passing the class and the only things left for our grade are one more homework assignment and the final.  Traffic going to the office was horrific.  I started my work day trying to finish things I hadn’t gotten to yesterday, only to get the blue screen of death and have my computer shut off.  Then a customer walked in.  Yeah, it was very nearly a repeat of yesterday.  Tomorrow morning the girls and I present our findings for the study at UMW’s annual Psi Chi Symposium (thus the poster we needed).  Thankfully it’s during our normally scheduled lab time, then off to work.  Friday morning back at school, then off to work.

What’s left?  Next week is our final week of classes.  I’m happy and nervous at the same time.  We (the research team) have to write a formal paper in APA format on our study.  Some of it we can collaborate on, but part of it has to be individual (and he will be checking)… it’s worth 25% of our grade.  I’ve never really had to write a scientific paper.  I’m a little nervous about it.  The follow week is finals week: stats Monday morning (also when our last homework assignment is due), and Methods Tuesday morning.  I have the option to not take the Methods final, and I’m seriously thinking of taking that option.  Not having to study for that final, and giving my all towards the paper and studying for stats seems like a win-win to me.

The boss has 2 more interviews lined up Friday.  We have one new person definitely starting in May, and last I heard one other we are just waiting to accept the job offer.  At this point we’re going to have them come in and start working ASAP (they can answer calls and take payments until they are licensed).  I can help answer questions they have on licensing stuff, and I’ll be training them as well (god knows the company training has gone to pot).  Hopefully these people will work out.  I’m awful lonely right now.

After my two finals… well, that’s a whole new ballgame of craziness.  I’ll save that for another time.

About saravara7

I am who I am and I make no apologies or excuses. I live without regret. I returned to school in 2013 to finally finish my Bachelor's Degree, majoring in Psychology. School part-time while working full-time isn't easy, but it is what I want and need. Once undergrad studies are finished, who knows? Most likely grad school, but you never know what curve ball life might throw. I love music, especially rock/metal/hair bands from the 80s and 90s... that has now been lumped into the entire "classic rock" category. (Wow, I feel old.) My music tastes do vary, and my CD collection might make some look at me oddly. That's fine. I know what I like. I don't ask anyone else to agree with it. :) I enjoy traveling, although I haven't had the luxury of doing so as of late. Hopefully that will change. If I manage to hit it big on the lottery, you bet it's going to change! Generally speaking I'm laid back. I'm told that I'm funny, and a leader. I'll take people's word for it. I guess I just don't see it. What I am is caring. Those I hold dearest to me are more precious than anything.

Posted on April 13, 2016, in Daily Ramble. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

unstapledlisa

It's not what you are eating, it's what's eating you...

