A Day of Thanks

Why do Americans only give a day of thanks (Thanksgiving)?  Why are we not thankful every day?  I believe you would be hard-pressed to find someone who cannot name one thing they are thankful for each day, so why do we insist on one day of celebration each year?  (Ok, the Native Americans might not have been entirely thankful for everything the pilgrims brought and shared, but I digress.)

Each year I find myself less attached to prescribed holidays.  I might get a day off.  Great, but what do I actually do with that day off?  Most likely it’s chores, cooking, studying… just more of the usual, only without having worked 8 hours beforehand.  Before everyone believes I’ve become the ultimate cynic, let me talk about my day today.

Last night I slept poorly as I’ve been sick since Tuesday (this did not keep me from working Tuesday and Wednesday).  I got up several times during the night, and I would have most likely spent time tossing and turning had Mina and Moonie not insisted on playing Tetris with my legs.  I got out of bed this morning, went downstairs and made both a protein shake and a cup of hot tea.  I worked on my continuing education credits that are due by year’s end in order to maintain my insurance license (which is required in order to keep my job).  Around noon I put the turkey breast in the crock pot, and a little after 1:00 I went to bed and napped a bit for roughly 3 hours.  I didn’t feel much better after getting up, but the rest most likely helped.  Prior to the turkey breast finishing I heated up the sides (mashed potatoes, mac & cheese, green beans), tossed some biscuits in the oven, made the gravy, and opened a can of cranberry jelly (yeah, I wasn’t dealing with make fresh cranberry relish).  So, even feeling like crap I put out a decent meal for my roommate and me.  He even had seconds.  After we cleaned up the kitchen I retreated upstairs and did some more of my continuing ed credits.

I could easily complain until I was blue in the face or out of breath over the fact that I’m sick, but I’m not.  It’s a cold.  I’ll live.  I woke up this morning.  I got out of bed of my own accord.  I have a roof over my head, electricity, running water, and food to eat.  There are a lot of people who can’t claim some of this.  I also have family and friends who love me.  I have my two fur babies who depend on me and share their love with me.  Things could be far worse.  I have no right to complain.  So I won’t.

Each day you wake up, even if your joints ache or you have a headache or cold, tell yourself at least one thing you are thankful for – even if it is simply the fact that you woke up.  Make every day one of thanks, not just the last Thursday in November each year.

About saravara7

I am who I am and I make no apologies or excuses. I live without regret. I returned to school in 2013 to finally finish my Bachelor's Degree, majoring in Psychology. School part-time while working full-time isn't easy, but it is what I want and need. Once undergrad studies are finished, who knows? Most likely grad school, but you never know what curve ball life might throw. I love music, especially rock/metal/hair bands from the 80s and 90s... that has now been lumped into the entire "classic rock" category. (Wow, I feel old.) My music tastes do vary, and my CD collection might make some look at me oddly. That's fine. I know what I like. I don't ask anyone else to agree with it. :) I enjoy traveling, although I haven't had the luxury of doing so as of late. Hopefully that will change. If I manage to hit it big on the lottery, you bet it's going to change! Generally speaking I'm laid back. I'm told that I'm funny, and a leader. I'll take people's word for it. I guess I just don't see it. What I am is caring. Those I hold dearest to me are more precious than anything.

Posted on November 24, 2016, in Daily Ramble. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

unstapledlisa

It's not what you are eating, it's what's eating you...

